See No Evil, Hear No Evil, Speak No Evil…But the Evil is Still There

image

My poor wife. It’s been a tough go for her so far. I can only imagine what she is going through. He world was flipped upside down and inside out. She must be scared. But she’s being strong and taking care of business. I understand her anger as well. But after reading her previous post, I feel the need to say this…

I choose to not ignore the elephant in my room. I have cancer. Plain and simple. I don’t have a problem telling people or joking about it. It is what it is and we can’t ignore reality. We can only face it. And I’d rather face it with a smile on my face (but not so much in the hospital…more about that later).

My best friend sent me a text a while back and I laughed my ass off when I got it. We ride the same wave of humour. It was timely and effective. It reminded me that I am strong and can beat this. I appreciate that kind of humour. I love that guy. Not in a a gay way, just normal bro stuff. Not that there is anything wrong with being gay. Lol. I hope he doesn’t mind, but I’m going to post a screen shot of it.

imageP

And here was my response…

image

Sick sense of humour? Gallows humour? Yup that’s me. I would rather look my enemy in the face and laugh, than turn away in fear. I don’t want anyone to feel uncomfortable around me or more importantly, sorry for me. There is nothing more depressing to me. It actually makes me doubt a favourable outcome.

So make no mistake, I have cancer. I know it and you know it. And since I’m in this fight, I’m in it to win it. If you can’t stand in my corner cheering, then go wait outside until it’s over.

Ben (that guy with cancer)

7 thoughts on “See No Evil, Hear No Evil, Speak No Evil…But the Evil is Still There

  1. Hey Benny I like this Scotty guy, did I meet him before?, if not I want to meet him , maybe we can have a beer together, he seems tight with his money, he buys coffee but no pinkys for cancer. I thought his blog was cool bud. Love Dad xo.

    Like

  2. Fries, there were fries?! Why wasn’t I there…if I had known I would have been in touch with Wendy a lot sooner to get the updates! Glad they are moving forward and getting things done…DO NOT let them sit on their ass’s and mull anything over…scream and shout till you get heard. My own miniscule battle (not a battle really, a squabble!) with cancer was over 10yrs ago…a wee lump on my lower ear lobe turned out to be malignant melanoma..they left me to wait while at the same time had told me that if it grew another 1mm I was done! UUmmph..Cancer Sucks! .I waited one more day for the surgery clinic to call me…I told the functional receptionist that if she did not alot me a surgery time I was an ex-nurse and would cut off my ear lobe myself with a scalpel or closest sharp object available! I hung up…she phoned back 5mins later and said “will tomorrow morning at 8am do”!!!!!! Scream and shout Ben…jump ahead of any lines..make the most noise, but do not let them push you around. They are human too…and the squeaky wheel ALWAYS gets the grease. We would love to come visit you this week…we are in the process of moving offices..so you let us know when a good time will be…I can’t promise good jokes or humour, but I can come with a smile and a box of Tims???!! Hope to see you soon…cheers..lotsa love and kisses…positive vibes and thoughts. Love Sandy and the rest of the Parker Clan. xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No “poor wife” here. I’m tough as nails. You know that. Just using the blog to release my inner fragility. Lol. Cancer doesn’t have a chance against the two of us together.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

