Home Sweet Home

Finally made it out of the Cancer Ward. It was getting a little depressing. There were a lot of sick people there and while I am not feeling great, I felt a little bad for taking up one of their beds. Finally got a “hot nurse” on checkout day – figures.

The nurses were great, very helpful and kind. I was really impressed by the service overall at SMH. From porters (the people that drive you around the hospital to your various appointments), to technicians, pharmacists, most nurses and most doctors. I learned that SMH has hospitalists – which are basically bed managers. They evaluate your condition on a daily basis and want to get you set up on meds to make sure they can send your ass home ASAP. They need to free up beds. They’re annoying at times and you have to play the game but I understand their position. It’s a necessary evil.

It’s nice to be home with the family. Back to my smelly couch, messy office and room full of guitars and related equipment. Also, no more hospital food. Wendy took good care of me while I was in there, making sure I had my morning Starbucks (sometime I’m a bit of a Diva) and of course those delicious fresh fruit salads to keep me regular, if you know what I mean.

It’s amazing what one week spent laid up in a hospital bed can do to your muscle strength and cardio. Once I got home I had to do all of the chemical treatments for the hot tub – because I wanted to enjoy a nice moonlit hot tub tonight. Anyways. I was winded and aching just from walking back and forth to the garage to switch chemicals and filters. I’m sure it’ll come back quickly, but it was pretty shocking just the same.

I bought Wendy tickets to see Neil Diamond in concert for her birthday (thank God I got cancer and didn’t have to take her myself – lol). The concert was last night and luckily my son stepped up and took his mom to the concert. They sent me a photo from the show and I have to say that it made me really proud to see Zach sitting with his mom and looking really happy. Almost brought a tear to my eye. Almost. Well maybe it did and I’m not going to tell you. Whatever.

While they were at the concert, I caught up on some episodes of The Vampire Diaries with Jaime. Yes, I watch The Vampire Diaries – I known I’m a grown ass man, so if you don’t like it GFY. I have cancer and I can do what I want. Lol.

I haven’t had the opportunity to spend much time with Raegan yet, she was at Volleyball. She’s such a great kid. I’m sure we’ll figure something out.

I went through my bag of meds last night and organized all of my pills and liquids and dose times. What a pain in the ass. But now that it’s all done, I’m all set.

I spoke to some good friends I hadn’t spoken to in a long time and it was very nice to hear their voices. It brought back a lot of good memories (from Ottawa and Depot) and it’s nice to know that even though I don’t talk to someone on a weekly or even monthly basis, they are still there, still the same people and you still have the same connection. Thanks.

9 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. A) The couch doesn’t smell unless you are sitting on it and farting
    B) The saddest thing that has happened to you in the last four weeks was that you were unable to attend the greatest concert on Earth. Your bad luck for missing Neil Diamond. Everything else is insignificant in comparison
    C) The last day nurse was hot. I’ll tell you what…you can see if she’ll lug your coffee and fruit salad to you every day while you’re in VGH. How ’bout that, big boy? 🙂
    and….
    D) There is no ‘sometimes’ about it. You are always a Diva. This whole cancer thing is wearing thin….

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice to hear that you are back home. Enjoy a home rest like you never had before at least for a long time so you are over due. Enjoy. Talk later love Dad xo

    Like

  3. Phew glad I’m not the only one who watches VPD. Kelsi and I watch that one together all the time. A little guilty pleasure. Welcome home Ben!!

    Like

  4. soo glad your home!! I hope your fruit salad had blueberries everyday. God help everyone in that hospital if they didn’t…:)

    Like

  5. Uncle Mike and I are happy to hear that you are home, Ben. And you broke us up with the Neil Diamond jab.
    (Sorry Wendy, glad you enjoyed the concert!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

