The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

What a busy week. I picked up my mom and my sister at the airport on Monday. It’s awesome to have them here. It felt like I hadn’t seen them in forever but after being with them for a few minutes, it’s like we never parted company in the first place. It’s funny how familiar family can be. Nice to have them here.

I had my first meeting with the Inspire Health, a local not-for-profit for people living with cancer. Their mission is to help you find simple and practical steps to support your health, work with their team of physicians, exercise therapists, clinical counsellors and nutritionists to optimize your health. My friend and physiotherapist referred me to them. Wendy and I had our first fireside chat with the intro group. It was great. Their philosophy falls in line with everything I believe in so it should be a good match and I’m looking forward to my follow-up visits. They take a patient responsibility approach and I plan on doing everything I possibly can to “fix” myself…or at least allow my body to fix itself.

I also met with the local Kidney Cancer expert, Dr K today. He was awesome; smart, well informed and a straight shooter. That sounds like me without a Phd. Lol. Once again, my medical team of Wendy and Barb joined me to record the finer details and ask appropriate questions. Thanks ladies.

Long story short, despite receiving so-so news, I felt better after I left. I feel like I am in good hands. He did give me some good news; they will remove the kidney ASAP and possibly set me up with a clinical trial that could be beneficial provided I qualify. He also said he would do everything he could for me and would even go so far as to recommend any out of country treatment if he thought it would help. He believes the patient ultimately decides what’s best and it is not his responsibility to “vet” any treatment info because it’s not available in Canada. I respect that bit of rebelliousness. The bad news…the tumor in my sacrum is non-operable at this point. Any pro-active surgery would likely cause paralysis, incontinence and a whole other host of not-so-fun lifestyle changes. If the radiation worked and the tumour growth halted then they will most likely observe and treat if possible. Otherwise….you know how it ends.

I don’t mind the news. I like that he told me to be optimistic but not unrealistic. Make no mistake, he does hold out hope and remember we are not even started treatment yet. I still have to do a PET scan and maybe another CT Scan and I have to meet with a surgeon ASAP to get my shitty kidney out.

I think Dr K and I see eye-to-eye. I am not a fairytale and pixie dust kind of guy so I prefer the straight goods. I believe he can deliver that for me and I appreciate that. If I know what I am looking at, I can prepare myself to fight it. It will also allow me to get my head out of my ass and plan for what could be…I could live another 50 years or not quite that long. Time will tell. Until then, I will live with a smile on my face, good friends at my side and battle ready.

5 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

  1. This made me think of you and Wendy today:
    “Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. The brave do not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.”

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Just love to hear all this coming from you, you are so strong, and I love it. You were always strong even as a baby, love you Dad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

