Life B/c and A/c

I am starting to think of life in terms of B/c (Before cancer) and A/c (After cancer).  I still refuse to capitalize the ‘c’.  (Don’t worry…I’m still just as anal as I ever have been about spelling and grammar.  This error is on purpose.)

The B/c and A/c works something like this:  I find an old shopping list laying around and I think to myself “oh, I wrote that one B/c. Back when life was normal.”   Or I’m watching a particular tv show and I think “Ben used to download this for me, B/c.” You get the picture.  Probably not the most productive use of time, but its what life has become.

Last week was good.  This week…not so much.  The anxiety of waiting for surgery is taking its toll, and Ben seems to be having some side effects from the medication.  He is really, really tired, which is good in the sense that he is finally getting some sleep, but not great when he is trying to take care of business and spend quality time with the kids and I before surgery.  I emailed our GP about an hour ago to discuss the side effects that Ben is experiencing and inquire if we should be heading off to the hospital.  Hopefully we are able to just go and see him today. Neither of us relish the thought of sitting in the hospital emerg all day.

We do not yet have the PET Scan results.  Our oncologist is away at a conference on kidney cancer that ends today (I think) so we should hear soon.  Like I said before – I don’t really see the point in finding out the results before surgery anyway.  I hope he doesn’t call.

On the upside, Zach celebrated his 19th birthday on June 1st, and despite all that is going on, it made us very happy.  Seeing how far Zach has come in the last year provides us both with a huge sense of relief and pride.  Unfortunately, with that comes some stress and anxiety about how Zach will continue to handle all that is happening, and whether or not he will succumb to the stress he is currently experiencing and go back down that terrifying path he was on.  He is surrounded by love and a lot of support, so we remain optimistic that will not happen.

Here’s a couple of pics from his 19th birthday BBQ.  It was so much fun to have his friends over for a ‘normal’ time that we never got to experience in the past.  The day Zach finally reads this blog, we want him to know how thrilled we were to host that party, even though Dad fell asleep (!).  Beyond thrilled.  It literally filled us with joy.

IMG_0853 IMG_0871

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a picture of the cake his friends surprised him with:

IMG_0861

And some sibling love while he opened his gifts:

IMG_0892

So that is three “A/c” birthdays down, one to go.  (Mine was squeezed in there too, but turning 45 doesn’t have the same thrill as turning 19.)  This blonde beauty turns 14 in a few weeks:

IMG_0865

Tomorrow we have managed to get an appointment with a naturopath downtown.  The wait to see this guy is at least 6 weeks, but they had a cancellation so we are in.  Thank Heavens.  This naturopath only sees cancer patients and he will work in conjunction with our oncologist.  He is not cheap, and our benefits do not cover naturopathic treatment which annoys me to no end.  (Turns out it is not cheap to get cancer in Canada. Who knew?) It is widely accepted now that there is a place for eastern medicine to work in conjunction with western medicine.  We are so far behind the times here in Canada.  Regardless, we will figure it out like everything else.

On Friday we will be at VGH for a consultation with the anesthetist and the nurses who will take care of My Man during surgery. I hope that Ben leaves there feeling more reassured.  He is scared of the surgery.  It causes me a lot of pain to see Ben afraid. I have discovered that when you love someone more then yourself, it actually physically hurts you to see them in emotional distress.  I sometimes just want to spontaneously lean over and toss my cookies on the ground.  I so wish I could take that away from him and carry the weight for him.  If there was one thing I could do for him right now, that would be it.

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.   Matthew 6:34  I try to remember this.

Just to add to the craziness that is the Saint-Onge’s lives, this girl finally had her long awaited appointment with an allergist who discovered that she has many significant allergies.  She is now on a strict elimination diet (not so easy for me to monitor or prepare for right now) and therefore is very cranky.  I don’t blame her.  She basically gets to eat rice and canned peaches.

IMG_9651

I look forward to the day when life is a bit smoother.  Life without challenges is a bit boring, but boring might be nice for a bit! In the meantime, I try to remember:

IMG_0876

We have hope, and in addition we have a LOT of love.  So there’s that.  We’ll get through, and then we’ll be able to enjoy “Life A/c.”

Love each other a lot.

Wendy xo

12 thoughts on “Life B/c and A/c

  1. well…I really wanted to slam you on your grammar, but I can’t , cause you always make it perfect. I know you want to take Bens pain away and I have seen the physical pain you are in as well. I totally get it.
    That being said, I love what you wrote:

    Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

    It is so true and doing this will give you the strength to push through this time until ” Life A/c” Love you so much.

    Beth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice post dear. Hugs and kisses. Beth, very nice reply. Just hugs for you.

    Ok now bear in mind that this is coming from the guy who FAILED English in University. Wendy, you are no longer allowed to use “then” or “than”. That’s it, you’re done. Beth, I’ll give you one more chance to use an ‘s properly. Because, to be fair, it could have been a typo.

    Good night!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will tell you that when I was in Grade 6, I was in “enriched” english, which means that I was super smart and exceeded the normal brain capacity of a grade sixer. So my mistakes are ALWAYS on purpose to see if you guys can pick them out. ………..take that Ben and Wenderella.
    Big ass hugs to you Ben. And a little ass hug to Wendy, only because shes not a hugger liek u r Ben.

    Love B

    Like

  4. Whatever. I was in enriched English AND math, right through to grade 12 where I promptly refused to do any more math and therefore got a big F. AND I took English Lit. “Why so pale and wan, fond lover? Prithee, why so pale?”

    Take that

    Like

  5. (Forewarning: tough love comment follows) Naturopathy is quack science. Preying on people’s genuine desire to do and try anything to get over diseases such as cancer, for a whole bunch of cash. It is not covered for a good reason. You may have read “stuff” on the internet, but it has not much to do with actual rigorous scientific research. Add up what it costs and spend it on an actual treatment that works, or something pleasant or fun such as a vacation (to Iceland… or Greece). https://richarddawkins.net/2013/12/naturopaths-and-the-creep-of-pseudo-science-toronto-star/

    Like

    • Forewarning: tough love comment coming back to you….. Naturopathic treatment is (in part) the use of traditional eastern methods of treatment. It is not a replacement for western medicine, it is complementary. There is plenty of scientific evidence to support the use of naturopathic treatment. Eating properly is a form of naturopathic treatment. Using turmeric to fight inflammation instead of Advil=proven. Using ginger to fight nausea=proven. I could go on and on. So fear not Dan….we are not foolish people seeking a cure by a witch doctor who will shake his booty and recite a poem and proclaim Ben cured. We have seen naturopaths for years in conjunction with our GP. We do a lot of research – we don’t throw our money out the door at anything that doesn’t have scientific support.

      Like

      • I should have clarified…we are in fact covered for naturopathic visits. The RCMP does consider it an acceptable method of treatment. They just don’t cover the supplements which is the same as any over the counter meds you get at the drugstore.

        Like

  6. Zach is in the best place possible! Surrounded by the love and support of his family and friends. Love the pics of his birthday. Good luck Monday….we will all be anxiously awaiting an update. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

