PET Scans, Oncos and Canceros Rancheros

So Tuesday was my PET Scan and Wednesday was my appointment with the oncologist. The PET Scan went relatively well, the oncologists appointment did not. I shouldn’t say it didn’t go well, Dr K is a very pleasant doctor but the news he delivered wasn’t great. It turns out that the cancer (aka: Canceros Rancheros if it was a Mexican dish) has spread a wee bit more towards the nerves that affect the front of my leg. Which means that all of the pain I’ve been suffering from recently was not in fact muscular pain it was nerve pain related to my Mexican dish.

So, where do we go from here? Well Dr K will consult with Dr P and look into some further radiation treatment. Hopefully they can treat that particular area and relieve some of the pain.

The next plan of attack was to take another chemo drug that sounds like Sinutab but is not Sinutab. Wouldn’t that be cool? Sinutab for cancer. They’d make billions. Anyways, I turned down that great opportunity in favor of waiting for the POG results. I am hoping, fingers crossed, that the genetic sequencing done by the POG Trial comes up with some form of treatment. Because to be quite honest, it looks like we’re coming to the end of potential treatments.

My wonderful wife has been juicing the shit out of our local organic vegetables and making me drink her concoctions on a daily basis. I have to admit that while her first juices tasted like science experiments gone bad, her most recent recipes are quite tasty. Keep it up Wendy. At the very least it’s giving me a lot more energy!

Well that’s my update du jour. I wish I could write more but my leg is bothering me and well, to be quite honest, I’m feeling a little down right now.

Until next time.

7 thoughts on “PET Scans, Oncos and Canceros Rancheros

  1. Saint-Onge Strong, Ben, Saint-Onge strong. And however that looks on any given day is ok. There is more than one of you so you can take turns.

    Thinking of you all lots and lots.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear Ben,

    I write this to you five months after you took your last breath in this world. I am limited now in ways that I can feel you close by, so responding to something you wrote is the best I’ve got for now.

    I still try to find ways to solve this stupid cancer (with a small ‘c’) problem. Silly of me, I know.

    The day you wrote this was a hard day. I remember. I want you to know how much I admire you for your strength over those horrific 9 months, and for how you lived your life as a husband and Dad. (I say ‘Dad’ because as you know all too well, anyone can be a father. You were so much more.)

    I miss you horribly. We are working through our grief. It seems it will be a long, hard road, but we had the best example of resilience in you, and we’ll make you proud. I won’t crawl into a hole and stop living. I promise you that. I will do exactly as you would have wanted.

    I still can’t believe you actually died. I knew the whole time you were sick that it was coming, but there was really no preparing for that. Five months in to this new and awkward life, and I still reach for you in the night.

    The world lost a piece of it’s best part the day you died.

    Always loving you,

    Your Bride
    Xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

