Nivolumab and music to my ears

Well, it’s finally coursing through my veins. Welcome Nivolumab. I’m not sure what to expect but we are hoping for the best. I’m supposed to receive a treatment every 2 weeks for the foreseeable future with the hopes that these tumours will start reversing their course of action. Lets all hope that happens sooner than later.

I have to admit, I’ve been feeling pretty decent the last couple of weeks. Since Radiation therapy. Apparently I’m a “responder” and radiation seems to work for me – albeit temporarily. So far, I can walk a little better and am getting some better sleeps thanks to some holistic medication.

I would just like to be in good enough shape to enjoy the holidays with my family. That’s my goal.

Otherwise, there isn’t much to report really. I would love to say a lot more but I’m kind of in a good place where I have some balanced sleeps, pain relief and feeling OK overall.

Since my hearing loss suffered as a result of the Cisplatin, I’ve been on the search for a good portable music player. For everyone who said “iPhone!” shame on you. They sound horrible. To be honest, they are good for most applications but for music, not so much. I’ll listen to Audiobooks and Podcasts on my iPhone but not so much music unless I’m streaming it in the truck.

I ended up buying a dedicated music player with a built-in headphone amp, DAC (Digital to Analog Converter), and 10 Band EQ. It uses micro SD cards for storage which cuts down on the cost. You would think that these are expensive but they are about ½ the price of an iPod and can be loaded with unlimited music. It decodes all recorded music formats including all lossless formats. All you need is a decent set of headphones and you are off to the races. So I sold a few guitar pedals, went to my favourite boutique music store (The Headphone Bar) and bought a FiiO X3 music player and a pair of Sennheiser Momentum II headphones. Not cheap overall but what a great sounding little system. With the 10 Band EQ I can adjust the player to cover off the frequencies I now have difficulty hearing. So far so good. Now it’s just a matter of loading a bunch of Micro SD cards with my favourite tunes.

Wendy had had me working the last few days. I think she mentioned it in her post. We’ve had to re-arrange the office to accommodate a hospital bed – just in case. I may try it out tonight. I’ve been sleeping in Rob’s chair in the family room for the past week or so. It’s so comfortable and I’m getting some great sleeps. I’m hoping I can transfer that to the hospital bed because the last thing I want to do is wear out my father-in-law’s chair. He was nice enough to lend it to me, I don’t want to wreck it.

Well I think it’s time for me to kick back and have another nap. That or make dinner. I can’t decide now. Lol.

10 thoughts on “Nivolumab and music to my ears

  1. Music to our ears Benny….your Dad and I are sitting together and he wanted me to express our joy and happiness….he said ” make sure you tell him how happy I am”…..fingers crossed and love, faith, and happiness sent your way…..you and we are blessed…..here is to the future and Xmas….love you with our heat and soul….xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. This post has made my day. Although I didn’t understand half of what you wrote about the music playing gem you found…. I love that you are feeling ok. Love love!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Money well spent on good headphones to enjoy the sounds that you have been missing. Uncle Mike and I are happy that you are getting some sleep at last.

    Like

  4. Glad to hear you finally have access to nivolumab. I have some single sheets you can have. They are in our sea shipment which is unfortunately delayed yet again but I will be sure to get them to you when they arrive.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

