Some Good Days

So these are some of the things that have happened in the last week or so.  First of all, this lovely girl and one of her besties were off to see the Taylor Swift concert in Vancouver.  (Jaime’s third time).  I believe they had a very good time.  Huge shout out to Auntie Lisa who kept an eye on them for me (wink) and to Auntie Colleen who drove them all the way home so that I wouldn’t have to make the trip.  XO to you both.

IMG_1762 IMG_1764

Jaime (left) and Kailin  

While those girls were rocking the night away, this is what was going on at home:

IMG_1800 (1)IMG_1783

The Leatherdale Girls came to town! That is Jordan (left) with Raegan.  Ben was very happy too…

We had some good times over the weekend.  When Beth and Jordy arrived, Ben had not been feeling well since his last chemo treatment.  As you can see from the picture above, he was still “couch bound” when they arrived.  By the time the long weekend was over he had started to feel much better.  I should probably be insulted that it takes Beth visiting to make him feel better, but … whatever it takes. Lol.  Maybe it was the fact that Beth informed him that he is a difficult patient.  I think she may have threatened him with all sorts of nasty things if his attitude didn’t improve.  Haha.  Whatever she did, it worked, and this is what it looked like as he started to feel better:

IMG_1847IMG_1773

Unfortunately, all good things come to an end, and Beth and Jordy had to go home.  Ben and I (and Raegan) consoled each other….

IMG_1901  IMG_1899

Hahaha.  The Saint-Onge Family is apparently not capable of taking proper pictures.  Check this out….

IMG_1887IMG_1958

That is Ben’s “model” pose.  His ‘Zoolander’ pose, apparently.  Yes, those are actually on purpose.

Even though Beth and Jordy had to go home, the good news was that Nancy and Jeremy moved back to Canada and now we are neighbours!  Wahoo! Last night the four of us celebrated with Thai food, and briefly contemplated taking one of the cooking lessons that Ben and his dad took at this restaurant.  Then Nancy and I gave our heads a bit of a shake and decided that Ben and Jeremy could do the lesson and we will just reap the benefits.

In all seriousness, I am SO relieved that Nancy is back, and to have her living so close now is blissful.  I am very, very happy.

Ben and I are off to see the oncologist in about 2 hours.  They have had some time to think about a plan, and I guess they will inform us when we meet.  We will also ask when the cementing of Ben’s pelvis is going to happen, because it has been bothering him quite a bit and was supposed to happen within two weeks.  One week has passed and we still don’t have an appointment, so hopefully we will find out today.

I wanted to write this post before we see the oncologist – its been a good couple of days and I think that needs to be appreciated all on its own without any of the other stuff mixed in.  And on that note, I will throw in a random picture of Ben with my beautiful Mama.  Can you believe she is holding a glass of wine?  In the words of Gramma…”I’m shocked“…. not.

IMG_1912

Have a great day. XO